Board of Education Meeting Southwest Public Schools District 179 December 14th, 2020

President Duane Teter called the regular meeting of the Southwest Public Schools Board of Education to order at 7:30 p.m. on December 14th, 2020 at the Southwest Jr/Sr High School in Bartley.

Present: Duane Teter, Ondrea McConville, Jennifer McConville, Jason Neseth, John O'Dea, Jason Kloepping, Principal Matt Springer, Principal Tara Fries, Superintendent Todd Porter and Natalie Meyers.

Absent:

Visitors: Les Roggenkamp, Derek Meyers, Cody Gerlach

President Duane Teter observed Open Meeting Law requirements.

Moved by O'Dea, seconded by Neseth, to approve the board meeting agenda as presented. Ayes: McConville, J. McConville, Neseth, Teter, Kloepping, and O'Dea. Nays: None. Motion carried.

Notice of the meeting was posted at the Post Offices in Bartley and Indianola, Adams Bank and Trust in Indianola, State Bank of Bartley in Bartley, Southwest Elementary School in Indianola, Southwest Jr/Sr High School in Bartley and published in the Valley Voice. Notice of the meeting was given in advance to all members prior to the meeting date.

Moved by J. McConville, seconded by Kloepping, to approve the minutes of the November 9th, 2020 board meeting as presented. Ayes: J. McConville, Neseth, Kloepping, O'Dea, Teter, and O. McConville. Nays: None. Motion carried.

Moved by O'Dea, seconded by J. McConville, to approve the claims as presented. Ayes: J. McConville, Kloepping, Teter, Neseth, O'Dea and O. McConville. Nays: None. Motion carried.

The treasurer's report was presented to the Board.

Derek Meyers presented information to the board about the current Directed Health Measures and how schools are to proceed with guidance from the health department and Nebraska Department of Education.

Mr. Porter explained the revision on the Chromebook purchase originally discussed in August.

Moved by J. McConville, seconded by Neseth, to approve the 2021-2022 Teacher Negotiated Agreement with a \$700 increase on the base salary. Ayes: J. McConville, Kloepping, Teter, Neseth, O'Dea and O. McConville. Nays: None. Motion carried.

Item #4 Activity Director compensation was tabled.

The board thanked Ondrea McConville for serving 8 years on the Southwest Public Schools Board of Education.

Superintendent Porter reported how he feels very fortunate that we as a school have been able to continue in class learning throughout this semester and be able to host and participate in school activities. He praised the staff for their job well done during this pandemic.

Principal Springer also wanted to thank the staff for stepping up and helping out where needed this semester with limited substitutes available. He explained that each day comes with different circumstances. The bus that was ordered in September is on time to be delivered as scheduled.

Principal Fries reported the kindergarten class was quarantined December 3rd but the students were able to come back early on December 14th if they wear masks through December 16th. The 1st grade class was able to participate in a virtual field trip. Principal Fries also wanted to commend her staff on the great job they have done this semester.

Moved by Kloepping, seconded by O'Dea, to go into closed session at 8:30 p.m. to discuss board agenda Item #4 Activity Director compensation. Ayes: Teter, J. McConville, Neseth, Kloepping, O'Dea, and O. McConville. Nays: None. Motion carried.

President Teter adjourned the closed session at 8:50 p.m.

Moved by O. McConville, seconded by O'Dea, to approve a \$500 increase for the Activity Director compensation. Ayes: J. McConville, Kloepping, Teter, Neseth, O'Dea and O. McConville. Nays: None. Motion carried.

Moved by Neseth, seconded by Kloepping, to adjourn the meeting at 8:52 p.m. Ayes: O'Dea, J. McConville, Neseth, Kloepping, Teter, and O. McConville. Nays: None. Motion carried.

Agenda for meetings will be kept continually current and available for public inspection in the office of the Superintendent.

The next regular board meeting will be held on Monday, January 11th, 2021, at 7:30 p.m. site to be determined.