Board of Education Meeting Southwest Public Schools District 179 January 13, 2020

President Duane Teter called the regular meeting of the Southwest Public Schools Board of Education to order at 7:30 p.m. on January 13, 2020 at the Southwest Junior-Senior High School in Bartley.

Present: Jennifer McConville, Ondrea McConville, Jason Kloepping, Jason Neseth, Duane Teter, John O'Dea, Principal Matt Springer, Principal Kathy Latta, Superintendent Todd Porter, and Patricia Smith.

Absent: None.

Visitors: None.

President Teter observed Open Meeting Law requirements.

Moved by Kloepping, seconded by O'Dea, to approve the board meeting agenda as presented. Ayes: O'Dea, O. McConville, Neseth, Kloepping, Teter, and J. McConville. Nays: None. Motion carried.

Notice of the meeting was given in advance by the board-approved method of meeting notice. Notice of the meeting was given in advance to all members prior to the meeting date.

Moved by O'Dea, seconded by J. McConville, to approve the minutes of the December 9, 2019 board meeting minutes as presented. Ayes: O. McConville, J. McConville, Kloepping, and O'Dea. Nays: None. Abstained: Neseth and Teter. Motion carried.

Moved by O'Dea, seconded by Neseth, to approve the claims as presented. Ayes: Neseth, Kloepping, O'Dea, J. McConville, Teter, and O. McConville. Nays: None. Motion carried.

The treasurer's report was presented to the Board.

Superintendent Porter adjourned the meeting sine die at 7:34 p.m. to elect school board officers for the 2020 calendar year.

Moved by O'Dea, seconded by Neseth, to nominate elected officers remain in the same positions (Teter as president, O. McConville as vice-president, O'Dea as treasurer, and Kloepping as secretary) as in 2019. Ayes: Kloepping, Teter, O'Dea, Neseth, O. McConville, and J. McConville. Nays: None. Motion carried.

President Teter then presided during the remainder of the meeting.

President Teter appointed committee members as follows: Teter, J. McConville, and O'Dea to the Americanism Committee; Neseth, O. McConville, and J. McConville to the Transportation Committee; Kloepping, O'Dea, and O. McConville to the Building and Grounds Committee; Neseth, Kloepping, and Teter to the Negotiations Committee; and O'Dea to the Foundation Board.

Moved by J. McConville, seconded by O'Dea, to authorize all Board Officers to sign checks for the General, Contingency, Special Building, Depreciation, Employee Benefit, Bond, Cooperative and Qualified Capital Purpose Undertaking Funds in accordance with Board Policy 2002. Ayes: Kloepping, O. McConville, O'Dea, Neseth, Teter, and J. McConville. Nays: None. Motion carried.

Moved by O'Dea, seconded by Neseth, to designate the Adams Bank & Trust and the State Bank of Bartley as the district's official depositories. Ayes: Teter, O'Dea, J. McConville, Neseth, O. McConville, and Kloepping. Nays: None. Motion carried.

Moved by O. McConville, seconded by O'Dea, to designate the Valley Voice as the district's official news publication. Ayes: Kloepping, J. McConville, Teter, Neseth, O'Dea, and O. McConville. Nays: None. Motion carried.

Superintendent Porter reported that Jadyn Brooks was named the Cricket Student of the Month, one of ten finalists entered in a drawing for a scholarship. The district received a \$500 Walmart Grant, which will be used for the fresh fruits and vegetables program. Mr. Porter informed board members of the ESU 15 and 16 workshop in North Platte on January 22 and the NRSCA Spring Conference in Kearney on March 26 and 27. Superintendent Porter plans to attend the Western Nebraska Administrators meeting on January 15 and the NRCSA Legislative Forum on February 26.

Principal Latta reported on an increase in elementary students for second semester, testing and benchmarks, and the continuing substitute shortage.

Principal Springer reported on Jordan Lewis' organization of a Career and College Fair at the junior-senior high school on January 29, the addition of another bus route, bus repairs, and instructor's moving classrooms and necessary addition of countertops and cabinets to prepare for the sixth grade moving to the building in August of 2020.

Moved by Teter, seconded by Kloepping, to go into executive session at 7:55 p.m. to discuss offering an elementary principal contract and teacher negotiations for the protection of the public interest and personnel issues for the needless injury to the reputation of an individual. President Teter repeated the motion, and the board voted as follows: Ayes: Neseth, O'Dea, O. McConville, J. McConville, Kloepping, and Teter. Nays: None. Motion carried.

President Teter closed executive session at 8:16 p.m.

Moved by Neseth, seconded by Kloepping, to offer the elementary principal contract to Tara Fries for the 2020-2021 school year. Ayes: Neseth, O'Dea, O. McConville, J. McConville, Kloepping, and Teter. Nays: None. Motion carried.

New Business, Action Item 7, Discuss and take appropriate action on teacher negotiations for the 2020-2021 school year was tabled until the February 10, 2020 board meeting.

Agenda for meetings will be kept continually current and available for public inspection in the office of the Superintendent.

The next regular board meeting will be held on Monday, February 10, 2020 at 7:30 p.m. at the Southwest Elementary School in Indianola.

Moved by O'Dea, seconded by Kloepping, to adjourn the meeting at 8:20 p.m. Ayes: Kloepping, Neseth, O'Dea, J. McConville, Teter, and O. McConville. Nays: None. Motion carried.