Board of Education Meeting Southwest Public Schools District 179 June 13, 2022

President Duane Teter called the regular meeting of the Southwest Public Schools Board of Education to order at 7:34 p.m. on June 13, 2022 at the Southwest Junior-Senior High School in Bartley.

Present: Duane Teter, Jennifer McConville, Jason Kloepping, Jason Neseth, Superintendent Todd Porter, and Natalie Meyers.

Absent: John O'Dea and Brooke Brooks

Visitors: NA

President Teter observed Open Meeting Law requirements.

Moved by Kloepping, seconded by McConville, to excuse absent board members John O'Dea and Brooke Brooks. Ayes: McConville, Kloepping, Neseth, and Teter. Nays: None. Absent: O'Dea and Brooks. Motion carried.

Moved by McConville, seconded by Neseth, to approve the board meeting agenda with the addition of Item 19 under New Business, Action Items. Ayes: McConville, Kloepping, Teter, and Neseth. Nays: None. Absent: O'Dea and Brooks. Motion carried.

Notice of the meeting were posted at the Post Offices in Bartley and Indianola, Adams Bank and Trust in Indianola, The Stockmans Bank in Bartley, Southwest Elementary School in Indianola, Southwest Junior-Senior High School in Bartley and published in the Valley Voice newspaper and on the school website. Notice of the meeting was given in advance to all members prior to the meeting date.

Moved by Neseth, seconded by Kloepping, to approve the minutes of the May 9, 2022 board meeting as presented. Ayes: Teter, Kloepping, Neseth, and McConville. Nays: None. Absent: O'Dea and Brooks. Motion carried.

Moved by McConville, seconded by Neseth, to approve the claims as presented. Ayes: McConville, Teter, Neseth, and Kloepping. Nays: None. Absent: O'Dea and Brooks. Motion carried.

The treasurer's report was presented to the Board.

Superintendent Porter discussed the plans for use of funds from the American Rescue Plan Act Elementary and Secondary School Emergency Relief Fund (ESSERS III) and Covid-Return to School Protocols for the 2022-2023 school year.

Moved by McConville, seconded by Kloepping, to approve the resignation of Mitch Muma, Elementary Teacher. Ayes: Neseth, McConville, Kloepping, and Teter. Nays: None. Absent: O'Dea and Brooks. Motion carried.

Moved by Kloepping, seconded by McConville, to approve a teaching contract for the 2022-2023 school year for Cindy Wilcox. Ayes: Neseth, McConville, Kloepping, and Teter. Nays: None. Absent: O'Dea and Brooks. Motion carried.

Moved by Neseth, seconded by Kloepping, to appoint R. Todd Porter, Superintendent of Schools, as the authorized representative for all local, state, and federal programs and documents as of July 1, 2022. Ayes: Neseth, McConville, Kloepping, and Teter. Nays: None. Absent: O'Dea and Brooks. Motion carried.

Moved by McConville, seconded by Neseth, to approve participation in the state and federal hot lunch program with R. Todd Porter, Superintendent of Schools, as the hearing officer as of July 1, 2022. Ayes: Teter, McConville, Kloepping, and Neseth. Nays: None. Motion carried.

Moved by McConville, seconded by Kloepping, to approve Superintendent R. Todd Porter to transact business on behalf of the district at financial institutions as of July 1, 2022. Ayes: McConville, Kloepping, Neseth, and Teter. Nays: None. Absent: O'Dea and Brooks. Motion carried.

Moved by Kloepping, seconded by McConville, to appoint Patricia Smith and Natalie Meyers as the Recording Secretaries for the 2022-2023 school year. Ayes: Teter, McConville, Kloepping, and Neseth. Nays: None. Absent: O'Dea and Brooks. Motion carried.

Moved by Neseth, seconded by McConville, to appoint Matt Springer, Secondary Principal, as the determining official for all hot lunch applications received from students in Grades 7-12. Ayes: Teter, McConville, Kloepping, and Neseth. Nays: None. Absent: O'Dea and Brooks. Motion carried.

Moved by Kloepping, seconded by McConville, to appoint Tara Fries, Elementary Principal, as the determining official for all hot lunch applications received from students in Pre-Kindergarten-Grade 6. Ayes: McConville, Kloepping, Neseth, and Teter. Nays: None. Absent: O'Dea and Brooks. Motion carried.

Moved by Kloepping seconded by Neseth, to approve updated board policy #2008 Meetings; #2010 Board Meetings; #3003.1 Bidding for Construction, Remodeling, Repair, or Related Projects Financed with Federal Funds; #3004.1 Fiscal Management for Purchasing and Procurement Using Federal Funds; #3012 School Meal Program and Meal Charges; #3057 Title IX Policy. Ayes: McConville, Kloepping, Neseth, and Teter. Nays: None. Absent: O'Dea and Brooks. Motion carried.

Tabled Item #16 Policy #4056 Resignation of Certified Staff to discuss.

Moved by Kloepping, seconded by Neseth, to approve new board policy #4064 Transporting Students in Employee Vehicles and updated board policy #5012 Testing and Assessment Program. Ayes: McConville, Kloepping, Neseth, and Teter. Nays: None. Absent: O'Dea and Brooks. Motion carried.

Moved by McConville, seconded by Kloepping, to approve the purchase of additional band uniforms in the amount of \$7,986.95. Ayes: McConville, Kloepping, Neseth, and Teter. Nays: None. Absent: O'Dea and Brooks. Motion carried.

Moved by Kloepping, seconded by Neseth, to adopt new board policy #4056 Resignation of Certified Staff with changes recommended by the board. Ayes: McConville, Kloepping, Neseth, and Teter. Nays: None. Absent: O'Dea and Brooks. Motion carried.

Superintendent Porter reported the concrete to the east of the building is being poured this week and appears to be on schedule. Also, the cooling tower has been cleaned and is in better working order. Mr. Porter informed the board he will be attending the Western Nebraska Administrators meeting in Ogallala this Tuesday. Summer camps are in full swing for Basketball, Volleyball, Football, and Cheerleading.

Agenda for meetings will be kept continually current and available for public inspection in the office of the Superintendent.

The next regular board meeting will be held on Monday, July 11, 2022 at 7:30 p.m. at the Southwest Jr/ Sr High School in Bartley.

Moved by Neseth, seconded by McConville, to adjourn the meeting at 8:34 p.m. Ayes: McConville, Neseth, Teter, and Kloepping. Nays: None. Absent: O'Dea and Brooks. Motion carried.