Board of Education Meeting Southwest Public Schools District 179 March 9, 2020

President Duane Teter called the regular meeting of the Southwest Public Schools Board of Education to order at 7:30 p.m. on March 9, 2020 at the Southwest Junior-Senior High School in Bartley.

Present: Jennifer McConville, Ondrea McConville, Jason Kloepping, Jason Neseth, Duane Teter, Principal Matt Springer, Superintendent Todd Porter, and Patricia Smith.

Absent: John O'Dea.

Visitors: Donna Behnke, Isabella Ryan, and Cody Gerlach.

President Teter observed Open Meeting Law requirements.

Moved by Kloepping, seconded by Neseth, to excuse absent board member John O'Dea. Ayes: Kloepping, O. McConville, Teter, Neseth, and J. McConville. Nays: None. Absent: O'Dea. Motion carried.

Moved by J. McConville, seconded by Kloepping, to approve the board meeting agenda as presented. Ayes: O. McConville, Neseth, Kloepping, Teter, and J. McConville. Nays: None. Absent: O'Dea. Motion carried.

Notice of the meeting was given in advance by the board-approved method of meeting notice. Notice of the meeting was given in advance to all members prior to the meeting date.

Moved by Neseth, seconded by J. McConville, to approve the minutes of the February 10, 2020 board meeting minutes as presented. Ayes: Neseth, Teter, O. McConville, J. McConville, and Kloepping. Nays: None. Absent: O'Dea. Motion carried.

Moved by O. McConville, seconded by Kloepping, to approve the claims as presented. Ayes: Neseth, Kloepping, J. McConville, Teter, and O. McConville. Nays: None. Absent: O'Dea. Motion carried.

The treasurer's report was presented to the Board.

John O'Dea arrived at the meeting at 7:41 p.m.

Moved by O. McConville, seconded by O'Dea, to approve the Resolution on School District Standards for Rejection of Option Enrollment Applications for the 2020-2021 school year, keeping option enrollment numbers as they currently are by capping elementary classes at 20 students, Grades 7-12 at 40 students, and no new special education students requiring specific academic and behavioral support (program full). Ayes: O'Dea, J. McConville, Neseth, O. McConville, Teter, and Kloepping. Nays: None. Absent: None. Motion carried.

Principal Springer arrived at the meeting at 7:44 p.m.

Moved by O'Dea, seconded by J. McConville, to approve the school calendar for the 2020-2021 school year as presented. Ayes: Kloepping, Teter, O'Dea, Neseth, O. McConville, and J. McConville. Nays: None. Absent: None. Motion carried.

Moved by O'Dea, seconded by Neseth, to approve up to \$7,500.00 for the purchase of cabinets and countertops for remodeling the distance learning room to a full-time classroom. Ayes: Kloepping, Teter, O'Dea, Neseth, O. McConville, and J. McConville. Nays: None. Absent: None. Motion carried.

Moved by J. McConville, seconded by O'Dea, to approve the estimate #4 quote from Hegwood Concrete in the amount of \$7,132.00 to replace the concrete on the north side of the Junior-Senior High School Building with the estimate #5 quote tabled until the April meeting to allow for further determination of roof draining issues. Ayes: Teter, O. McConville, Kloepping, Neseth, J. McConville, and O'Dea. Nays: None. Absent: None. Motion carried.

Moved by O'Dea, seconded by Kloepping, to go into executive session at 8:05 p.m. to discuss pay increases for the protection of the public interest and personnel issues for the needless injury to the reputation of an individual. President Teter repeated the motion, and the board voted as follows: Ayes: Neseth, O'Dea, O. McConville, J. McConville, Kloepping, and Teter. Nays: None. Absent: None. Motion carried.

President Teter closed executive session at 8:35 p.m.

Moved by J. McConville, seconded by O'Dea, to approve the 2020-2021 negotiated contract for certified staff, according to negotiations between the Southwest Teachers Association and the Board Negotiations Committee. An increase of \$575.00 was added to the base salary. Ayes: Neseth, O'Dea, O. McConville, J. McConville, Kloepping, and Teter. Nays: None. Absent: None. Motion carried.

Moved by O'Dea, seconded by Neseth, to approve a 3% pay increase for non-certified staff for the 2020-2021 school year. Ayes: Neseth, Kloepping, O. McConville, O'Dea, Teter, and J. McConville. Nays: None. Absent: None. Motion carried.

Moved by Kloepping, seconded by O'Dea, to approve offering all returning teachers a contract for the 2020-2021 school year as recommended by the Administration. Ayes: Teter, Kloepping, O. McConville, O'Dea, Neseth, and J. McConville. Nays: None. Absent: None. Motion carried.

Moved by J. McConville, seconded by O. McConville, to renew a contract with Matt Springer as the junior-senior high school principal for the 2020-2021 school year with a 3% salary increase. Ayes: J. McConville, Neseth, Kloepping, Teter, and O. McConville. Nays: O'Dea. Absent: None. Motion carried.

Superintendent Porter reported on the distribution of the NASB Membership Guide and a coronavirus Zoom meeting scheduled for every Sunday afternoon with Health and Human Services, the Nebraska Department of Education and school administrators across the state for determing the safety of students in Nebraska.

Principal Springer reported on future Inter-High Day contests, the current status of the new bus, finalization of the 2020-2021 master schedule, a low number of 2021 seniors are interested in the Early Release Program, and the scheduled junior high dual track meet with McCook St. Pat's on Monday, April 6, in Bartley.

Agenda for meetings will be kept continually current and available for public inspection in the office of the Superintendent.

The next regular board meeting will be held on Monday, April 13, 2020 at 7:30 p.m. at the Southwest Elementary School in Indianola.

Moved by Neseth, seconded by J. McConville, to adjourn the meeting at 8:50 p.m. Ayes: Kloepping, Neseth, O'Dea, J. McConville, Teter, and O. McConville. Nays: None. Absent: None. Motion carried.