Board of Education Meeting Southwest Public Schools District 179 August 14, 2023

President Jason Neseth called the regular meeting of the Southwest Public Schools Board of Education to order at 7:30 p.m. on August 14, 2023 at the Southwest Junior-Senior High School in Bartley.

Present: Jason Neseth, Duane Teter, Brooke Brooks, Jennifer McConville, Jason Kloepping, John O'Dea, Superintendent Drew Billeter, Principals Tara Fries and Matt Springer, and Patricia Smith.

Absent: None.

Visitors: Eric Fisher, Dave and Ondrea McConville, Brad and Adrienne Randel and daughter, Les Roggenkamp, Cody Gerlach, Doug Stewart, Arlyn Minary, Jim Broomfield, and Cindy Huff.

President Neseth observed Open Meeting Law requirements.

Moved by O'Dea, seconded by McConville, to approve the board meeting agenda as presented. Ayes: Kloepping, O'Dea, McConville, Neseth, Brooks, and Teter. Nays: None. Motion carried.

Notices of the meeting were posted at the Adams Bank and Trust in Indianola, the Stockmens Bank Bartley Branch, Post Offices in Bartley and Indianola, Southwest Elementary School in Indianola, Southwest Junior-Senior High School in Bartley, and published in the Valley Voice newspaper and on the school website. Notice of the meeting was given in advance to all members prior to the meeting date.

During Agenda Item V. Public Comment and Recognition of Visitors, Ondrea McConville, former board member, addressed the Board members regarding Agenda Item VII. New Business, Action Item #5 discuss and take appropriate action on increasing the school district's property tax authority by up to 7% for the 2023-2024 fiscal year. She encouraged the Board to vote against this action item as she felt the increase was not necessary.

Moved by Teter, seconded by Kloepping, to approve the minutes of the July 10, 2023 board meeting. Ayes: McConville, Kloepping, Neseth, Teter, and Brooks. Nays: None. Abstained: O'Dea. Motion carried.

Moved by McConville, seconded by O'Dea, to approve the claims as presented. Ayes: Teter, Kloepping, Brooks, O'Dea, Neseth, and McConville. Nays: None. Motion carried.

The treasurer's report was presented to the Board.

Moved by O'Dea, seconded by Teter, to approve revised Board Policy 4059 Behavioral and Mental Health Training, previously Suicide Prevention Training, as presented. Ayes: Teter, Kloepping, Neseth, Brooks, McConville, and O'Dea. Nays: None. Motion carried.

Moved by Kloepping, seconded by McConville, to affirm revised Board Policy 5004 Option Enrollment, as presented. Ayes: Teter, Kloepping, Neseth, Brooks, McConville, and O'Dea. Nays: None. Motion carried.

Moved by O'Dea, seconded by Kloepping, to approve revised Board Policy 5064 Supplement, Not Supplant. Ayes: Teter, Kloepping, Neseth, Brooks, McConville, and O'Dea. Nays: None. Motion carried.

Moved by O'Dea, seconded by McConville, to approve revised Board Policy 5065.1 Early Dismissal for Seniors to match Policy 5003 Admission of Part-Time Students with enrollment of 20 credits. Ayes: Teter, Kloepping, Neseth, Brooks, McConville, and O'Dea. Nays: None. Motion carried.

Moved by Teter, seconded by Kloepping, to approve increasing the school district's property tax authority by up to 7% for the 2023-2024 fiscal year after Superintendent Billeter answered many questions asked by Board members and district patrons. Board members voiced their reasoning for their decisions on the motion. Ayes: Teter, Kloepping, and Neseth. Nays: Brooks, McConville, and O'Dea. Motion failed.

Moved by McConville, seconded by O'Dea, to approve the bid from Creative Sites in the amount of \$26,000.00 for rubber mulch for the elementary playground. A reimbursement claim will be filed for 50% of the cost with the Nebraska Department of Environment and Energy. Ayes: Teter, Kloepping, Neseth, Brooks, McConville, and O'Dea. Nays: None. Motion carried.

Moved by McConville, seconded by Kloepping, to approve the bid from Deveney Ford in the amount of \$\$52,886.00 for a new Ford ten-passenger van. Ayes: Teter, Kloepping, Neseth, Brooks, and McConville. Nays: O'Dea. Motion carried.

Moved by Kloepping, seconded by McConville, to approve the purchase of a new utility task vehicle for use by the custodial and maintenance staff at the Junior-Senior High School site with a limit of \$13,500.00. Ayes: Kloepping, Neseth, Brooks, McConville, and O'Dea. Nays: Teter. Motion carried.

Moved by Teter, seconded by O'Dea, to approve transfers from the General Fund to the School Nutrition Fund in the amount of \$50,000.00, to the Activity Fund in the amount of \$50,000.00, and to the Depreciation Fund in the amount of \$60,000.00. Ayes: Teter, Kloepping, Neseth, Brooks, McConville, and O'Dea. Nays: None. Motion carried.

Superintendent Billeter discussed replacement of the teacherage air conditioning unit being paid from the Special Building Fund, the finalization and status of the elementary building project, the addition of social media sites to promote the school as an extension of the district's website, using the REAP Grant to purchase ten elementary iPads and district Chromebooks on the 3-year rotation project, and the Southwest School Foundation will be providing sno-cones for elementary students on the first day of school.

Principal Fries commented that the Foundation will also be serving pizza and root beer floats at the elementary Walk to School night.

Principal Springer informed the Board of the enrollment of new students at the Junior-Senior High School, the bus ordered last year is to arrive in November, and reemphasized the need for bus drivers.

Cindy Huff, a NRCSA representative, discussed the possible revision of several Board Policies and communication and goals between the Board members and Superintendent Billeter.

Agenda for meetings will be kept continually current and available for public inspection in the office of the Superintendent.

The next regular board meeting will be held on Monday, September 11, 2023 at 7:30 p.m. at the Southwest Junior-Senior High School Library in Bartley.

Moved by O'Dea, seconded by Kloepping, to adjourn the meeting at 9:15 p.m. Ayes: Kloepping, Neseth, O'Dea, Teter, McConville, and Brooks. Nays: None. Motion carried.