Board of Education Meeting Southwest Public Schools District 179 February 12, 2024

President Jason Neseth called the regular meeting of the Southwest Public Schools Board of Education to order at 7:30 p.m. on February 12, 2024 at the Southwest Junior-Senior High School in Bartley.

Present: Jason Neseth, Brooke Brooks, Jason Kloepping, Jennifer McConville, Superintendent Drew Billeter, Principal Tara Fries, and Patricia Smith.

Absent: Duane Teter and John O'Dea.

Visitors: Derek Meyers and Emma Thompson.

Moved by Kloepping, seconded by McConville, to excuse absent board members, John O'Dea and Duane Teter. Ayes: Neseth, Brooks, Kloepping, and McConville. Nays: None. Absent: O'Dea and Teter. Motion carried.

President Neseth observed Open Meeting Law requirements.

Moved by McConville, seconded by Brooks, to approve the board meeting agenda as presented. Ayes: Kloepping, Neseth, Brooks, and McConville. Nays: None. Absent: Teter and O'Dea. Motion carried.

Notices of the meeting were posted at the Adams Bank and Trust in Indianola, the Stockmens Bank Bartley Branch, Post Offices in Bartley and Indianola, Southwest Elementary School in Indianola, Southwest Junior-Senior High School in Bartley, and published in the McCook Gazette newspaper and on the school website. Notice of the meeting was given in advance to all members prior to the meeting date.

Moved by McConville, seconded by Kloepping, to approve the minutes of the January 22, 2024 board meeting. Ayes: Kloepping, Neseth, McConville, and Brooks. Nays: None. Absent: O'Dea and Teter. Motion carried.

Moved by Kloepping, seconded by McConville, to approve the claims as presented. Ayes: Kloepping, McConville, Brooks, and Neseth. Nays: None. Absent: Teter and O'Dea. Motion carried.

The treasurer's report was presented to the Board.

Moved by Kloepping, seconded by McConville, to approve the resignation of Logan Loker at the end of the 2023-2024 school year with thanks for his service to the district. Ayes: Kloepping, Neseth, McConville, and Brooks. Nays: None. Absent: O'Dea and Teter. Motion carried.

Moved by McConville, seconded by Kloepping, to approve the resignation of Colleen Ramsay at the end of the 2023-2024 school year with thanks for her twenty-two years of service to the district. Ayes: Kloepping, Neseth, McConville, and Brooks. Nays: None. Absent: Teter and O'Dea. Motion carried.

Moved by Kloepping, seconded by Brooks, to approve the 2024-2025 school calendar as presented. Ayes: Kloepping, McConville, Brooks, and Neseth. Nays: None. Absent: O'Dea and Teter. Motion carried.

Moved by McConville, seconded by Kloepping, to approve the quote from Creative Sites for the purchase of elementary playground equipment at a cost of \$39,500.00 with thanks to the Southwest Schools Foundation for their donation of \$6,500.00 to purchase a slide. Ayes: Neseth, Brooks, McConville, and Kloepping. Nays: None. Absent: Teter and O'Dea. Motion carried.

Moved by Kloepping, seconded by McConville, to approve the quote from Crouch Recreation for the purchase of basketball shot clocks as implemented by the Nebraska Schools Activity Association at a cost of \$9,096.00 for the 2024-2025 school year. Ayes: Neseth, Brooks, McConville, and Kloepping. Nays: None. Absent: O'Dea and Teter. Motion carried.

Moved by Kloepping, seconded by Brooks, to approve the quote from Gov.Connection in the amount of \$21,936.50 for staff computers using the U.S. Department of Education Small Rural Schools Achievement Grant. Ayes: Neseth, Brooks, McConville, and Kloepping. Nays: None. Absent: Teter and O'Dea. Motion carried.

Moved by McConville, seconded by Kloepping, to approve a transfer of \$40,000.00 from the General Fund to the School Nutrition Fund. Ayes: Neseth, Brooks, McConville, and Kloepping. Nays: None. Absent: O'Dea and Teter. Motion carried.

Moved by Kloepping, seconded by Brooks, to go into closed session at 8:05 p.m. for Item #8, Principals' Contracts for the 2024-2025 school year to discuss pay increases for the protection of the public interest and personnel issues for the needless injury to the reputation of an individual. President Neseth repeated the motion, and the board voted as follows: Ayes: Neseth, McConville, Brooks, and Kloepping. Nays: None. Absent: Teter and O'Dea. Motion carried.

President Neseth closed executive session at 8:13 p.m.

Moved by Kloepping, seconded by McConville, to renew a contract with Tara Fries with a 3% increase in pay as the elementary principal, and daycare and summer school administrator for the 2024-2025 school year. Ayes: McConville, Neseth, Kloepping, and Brooks. Nays: None. Absent: O'Dea and Teter. Motion carried.

Moved by Kloepping, seconded by Brooks, to renew a contract with Matt Springer with a 3% increase in pay as the junior-senior high school principal and transportation director for the 2024-2025 school year. Ayes: McConville, Neseth, Kloepping, and Brooks. Nays: None. Absent: Teter and O'Dea. Motion carried.

Superintendent Billeter discussed an increase in interest rates for the Certificates of Deposit Account Registry Service at the Stockmens Bank and the Adams Bank & Trust, the resignation of Shelby Chartier as a paraeducator at the junior-senior high school and hiring of MacKayla Collins as her replacement, status of delivery of the purchased bus, letters of intent for certified staff, advertising for instructors, Kindergarten Roundup, and delivery of new welders using the Nebraska Career Education Grant.

During Public Comment, Derek Meyers voiced several questions and comments to the Board.

Agenda for meetings will be kept continually current and available for public inspection in the office of the Superintendent.

The next regular board meeting will be held on Monday, March 11, 2024 at 7:30 p.m. at the Southwest Junior-Senior High School Library in Bartley.

Moved by Kloepping, seconded by McConville, to adjourn the meeting at 8:28 p.m. Ayes: Kloepping, Neseth, McConville, and Brooks. Nays: None. Absent: O'Dea and Teter. Motion carried.