Board of Education Meeting Southwest Public Schools District 179 February 13, 2023

President Jason Neseth called the regular meeting of the Southwest Public Schools Board of Education to order at 7:31 p.m. on February 13, 2023 at the Southwest Junior-Senior High School in Bartley.

Present: Jason Neseth, Jason Kloepping Duane Teter, Brooke Brooks, Jennifer McConville, John O'Dea, Superintendent Todd Porter, Principal Matt Springer, and Patricia Smith.

Absent: None.

Visitors: None.

President Neseth observed Open Meeting Law requirements.

Moved by Kloepping, seconded by McConville, to approve the board meeting agenda as presented. Ayes: O'Dea, McConville, Neseth, Kloepping, Brooks, and Teter. Nays: None. Absent: None. Motion carried.

Notices of the meeting were posted at the Adams Bank and Trust in Indianola, the Stockmens Bank Bartley Branch, Post Offices in Bartley and Indianola, Southwest Elementary School in Indianola, Southwest Junior-Senior High School in Bartley, and published in the Valley Voice newspaper and on the school website. Notice of the meeting was given in advance to all members prior to the meeting date.

Moved by Teter, seconded by McConville, to approve the minutes of the January 9, 2023 board meeting. Ayes: McConville, Neseth, Kloepping, Teter, Brooks, and O'Dea. Nays: None. Absent: None. Motion carried.

Moved by O'Dea, seconded by Brooks, to approve the claims as presented. Ayes: Teter, Kloepping, Brooks, O'Dea, Neseth, and McConville. Nays: None. Absent: None. Motion carried.

The treasurer's report was presented to the Board.

Moved by McConville, seconded by Brooks, to approve the bid from ByteSpeed in the amount of \$18,560.00 to purchase 58 Lenovo Chromebooks using a federal grant. Ayes: McConville, Teter, O'Dea, Kloepping, Neseth and Brooks. Nays: None. Absent: None. Motion carried.

Moved by Brooks, seconded by Kloepping, to approve the school calendar for the 2023-2024 school year as presented. Ayes: Teter, Kloepping, Neseth, Brooks, McConville, and O'Dea. Nays: None. Absent: None. Motion carried.

Moved by O'Dea, seconded by Kloepping, to approve the change of graduation speech requirements with either two semesters or 10 credits of Speech or one semester or 5 credits of Speech and one semester or 5 credits of Drama. Ayes: McConville, Neseth, Kloepping, O'Dea, Brooks, and Teter. Nays: None. Absent: None. Motion carried.

Moved by Teter, seconded by O'Dea, to approve the resignation of Glenna Miller as a junior-senior high school science instructor. Ayes: Teter, Kloepping, Neseth, Brooks, McConville, and O'Dea. Nays: None. Absent: None. Motion carried.

Moved by Kloepping, seconded by McConville, to approve a 2023-2024 contract with Logan Loker as a junior-senior high school math instructor. Ayes: McConville, Teter, O'Dea, Kloepping, Neseth and Brooks. Nays: None. Absent: None. Motion carried.

Moved by McConville, seconded by Brooks, to approve a 2023-2024 contract with Chelsea Jonte as a junior-senior high school science instructor. Ayes: McConville, Teter, O'Dea, Kloepping, Neseth and Brooks. Nays: None. Absent: None. Motion carried.

A discussion was held to raise ideas to support academic achievement using positive reinforcement measures to improve test scores and grades for all district students. The Board approved staff members continue researching this proposal for the 2023-2024 school year.

Moved by O'Dea, seconded by McConville, to renew a contract with Tara Fries as the elementary principal and Matt Springer as the junior-senior high school principal and transportation director for the 2023-2024 school year with a 3% increase in salaries. Ayes: Teter, Neseth, Kloepping, McConville, Brooks, and O'Dea. Nays: None. Absent: None. Motion carried.

Moved by Teter, seconded by O'Dea, to approve 210 days of service for principal's contracts between the dates of August 1 and May 31 of each school year. Ayes: McConville, Teter, O'Dea, Kloepping, Neseth and Brooks. Nays: None. Absent: None. Motion carried.

Superintendent Porter discussed the teacher vacancy survey comparison by NDE and awards to Les Roggenkamp as District V Athletic Director and Don Ellicott with an Outstanding Service Award by the Nebraska State Interscholastic Athletic Administrators Association. Mr. Porter briefly discussed the Nebraska and the Pillen plans and their results on funding schools in the Southwest District.

Principal Matt Springer discussed the agenda for the two-day external visitation team beginning on March 15, the planning of a Grade 6 Parent Orientation, and the possibility of purchasing a van for use for smaller groups transportation instead of using the coach buses.

Agenda for meetings will be kept continually current and available for public inspection in the office of the Superintendent.

The next regular board meeting will be held on Monday, March 13, 2023 at 7:30 p.m. at the Southwest Junior-Senior High School Library in Bartley.

Moved by O'Dea, seconded by Kloepping, to adjourn the meeting at 9:21 p.m. Ayes: Kloepping, Neseth, O'Dea, Teter, McConville, and Brooks. Nays: None. Absent: None. Motion carried.