Board of Education Meeting Southwest Public Schools District 179 January 22, 2024

President Jason Neseth called the regular meeting of the Southwest Public Schools Board of Education to order at 7:31 p.m. on January 22, 2024 at the Southwest Junior-Senior High School in Bartley.

Present: Jason Neseth, Duane Teter, Jason Kloepping, Jennifer McConville, John O'Dea, Superintendent Drew Billeter, Principals Tara Fries, and Natalie Meyers.

Absent: Brooke Brooks

Visitors: Emma Rasmussen

Presdient Neseth observed Open Meeting Law requirements.

Moved by Kloepping, seconded by O'Dea, to excuse absent board member Brooke Brooks. Ayes: Kloepping, McConville, Teter, Neseth, and O'Dea. Nays: None. Absent: Brooks. Motion carried.

Moved by McConville, seconded by O'Dea, to approve the board meeting agenda as presented. Ayes: Neseth, Teter, Kloepping, O'Dea, and McConville. Nays: None. Absent: Brooks. Motion carried.

Notices of the meeting were posted at the Adams Bank and Trust in Indianola, the Stockmens Bank Bartley Branch, Post Offices in Bartley and Indianola, Southwest Elementary School in Indianola, Southwest Junior-Senior High School in Bartley, and published in the Valley Voice newspaper and on the school website. Notice of the meeting was given in advance to all members prior to the meeting date.

Moved by McConville, seconded by O'Dea, to approve the minutes of the December 11, 2023 board meeting. Ayes: Neseth, Kloepping, McConville, and O'Dea. Nays: None. Absent: Brooks. Abstain: Teter. Motion carried.

Moved by O'Dea, seconded by Kloepping, to approve the claims as presented. Ayes: McConville, Kloepping, Neseth, Teter, and O'Dea. Nays: None. Absent: Brooks. Motion carried.

The treasurer's report was presented to the Board.

President Neseth adjourned the meeting sine die at 7:39 p.m. to elect school board officers for the 2024 calendar year.

Moved by O'Dea, seconded by McConville, to nominate elected officers as follows: Jason Neseth as President, Duane Teter as Vice-President, Jason Kloepping as Secretary, and Jennifer McConville as Treasurer. Ayes: Kloepping, Neseth, Teter, McConville, and O'Dea. Nays: None. Absent: Brooks. Motion carried.

President Neseth presided during the remainder of the meeting.

Moved by O'Dea, seconded by McConville, to retain committee members as follows: Teter, McConville, and O'Dea to the Americanism Committee; Neseth, Brooks, and McConville to the Transportation Committee; Kloepping, O'Dea, and Brooks to the Building and Grounds Committee; Neseth, Kloepping, and Teter to the Negotiations Committee; and Brooks to the Foundation Board. Ayes: Kloepping, Neseth, Teter, McConville, and O'Dea. Nays: None. Absent: Brooks. Motion carried.

Moved by McConville, seconded by O'Dea, to authorize all Board Officers to sign checks for the General, Contingency, Special Building, Depreciation, Employee Benefit, Cooperative and Qualified Capital Purpose

Undertaking Funds. Ayes: Kloepping, Neseth, Teter, McConville, and O'Dea. Nays: None. Absent: Brooks. Motion carried.

Moved by Kloepping, seconded by McConville, to designate the Adams Bank & Trust and Stockmen's Bank as the district's official depositories. Ayes: Kloepping, Teter, Neseth, McConville, and O'Dea. Nays: None. Absent: Brooks. Motion carried.

Moved by O'Dea, seconded by Teter, to designate the Valley Voice as the district's official news publication. Ayes: Kloepping, Neseth, Teter, McConville, and O'Dea. Nays: None. Absent: Brooks. Motion carried.

Moved Kloepping, seconded by McConville, to approve the 2022-2023 Audit. Ayes: Kloepping, Neseth, Teter, McConville, and O'Dea. Nays: None. Absent: Brooks. Motion carried.

Moved by O'Dea, seconded by McConville, to approve the quote in the amount of \$6,891.00 for miscellaneous electrical work at the elementary building from Holdrege Electric. Ayes: Neseth, Teter, McConville, O'Dea, and Kloepping. Nays: None. Absent: Brooks. Motion carried.

Moved by Teter, seconded by O'Dea, to approve the quote from Matheson in the amount of \$7,741.00 for two MIG welders to be paid from the \$7,500.00 CTE grant the school has received. Ayes: Neseth, McConville, Teter, O'Dea, and Kloepping. Nays: None. Absent: Brooks. Motion carried.

Moved by Kloepping, seconded by Teter, to approve the contract with Carissa Hill as a Grade 6-12 art instructor for the 2024-2025 school year. Ayes: Neseth, Teter, McConville, O'Dea, and Kloepping. Nays: None. Absent: Brooks. Motion carried.

Superintendent Billeter reported the sprinkler system was inspected at the beginning of the month and the school hired a new custodian and cook this last month. Springer Eco Blasting completed the masonry cleaning at the HS and they will return to put a sealer on the building once the temperature is above 50 degrees. Mr. Billeter discussed the CDARS CD's with the board and informed them 3 of them will mature in February and the others will mature in March. He also reported the Southwest Foundation will be purchasing a Rock N Roll slide for the elementary playground project in the amount of \$6,500. Letters of intent will be given to certified staff in February and the board was informed that the NSAA will approve shot clocks for basketball in April, so he will be getting quotes for a shot clock system next month.

Principal Fries reported all elementary students, Kindergarten through 5th Grade, finished MAPS Testing and Dibbles. Mrs. Fries informed the board that all but a few students met the green or growth mark and she expressed how proud she was of the all the test scores. Parent teacher conferences will be the 2nd week of February and Kindergarten orientation will be March 5th. Mrs. Fries also wanted to commend the custodial staff on a job well done removing snow and ice from the elementary and high school buildings.

Agenda for meetings will be kept continually current and available for public inspection in the office of the Superintendent.

The next regular board meeting will be held on Monday, February 12, 2024 at 7:30 p.m. at the Southwest Junior-Senior High School Library in Bartley.

Moved by Kloepping, seconded by Teter, to adjourn the meeting at 8:15 p.m. Ayes: Kloepping, O'Dea, McConville, Neseth, and Teter. Nays: None. Absent: Brooks. Motion carried.